A view above the planes

Living above a flight path to the local airport was new to us.

Me in my home office

The plane, the plane!

Became a running joke between myself and the rest of the family. I loved the idea of living high up on a mountain. Living in the Caribbean meant a lot of things, this was one of them. Many Caribbean Islands are actually extinct volcanoes.

It was so strange coming from Miami – with no altitude – to the Caribbean where driving up to your home, ears pop. We never had this problem in Miami, my daughter says. Our first car we rented couldn’t get up the driveway to our home. The driveway was at such a steep incline my little four cylinder rent a car couldn’t get all of us up the hill.

Living above airplanes did have its advantages. Neighbors were scarce. We were one of two homes a top this mountain peak. This of course had its disadvantages, like electricity and phone service. We were six months waiting for a phone line to be run to the top of the mountain. Electricity was almost as rare. Many days electricity was out for six or seven hours at a time. Being on an island meant all electricity for the island was created by diesel generators. If the generators broke down, it took hours for a service man to come and fix it.

Another fun fact about living on top a mountain, no phones. Try that with two teenage daughters. One of the things I had to do is drop off the girls downtown before I went to work everyday, so they could use the local coffee shop internet connection. Connections with the rest of the world were strained. We found that having a home in the clouds was a challenge in many ways. Comfort, locale, being away from others and when you want to go grocery shopping, it was a journey you had to prepared for.

Being on an island in the middle of the ocean, seclusion is an unique experience. For some it is a break from the day to day hectic “real” world, for others places like this are resort locations for beach fun and ocean sailing. For me it was all about the seclusion and isolation – to think about my life how it has proceeded and what I was going to do with the rest of it. Being a man of a certain age, this isolation was the point were I decide to finish an already started project. This is how my two cookbooks came so quickly for me after returning to the mainland of the United States.

Living in the clouds – above where planes travel – literally and in my own inner-self’s thoughts made it easy for me to put words to print quickly.  I rewrote my unfinished cookbook – that was sitting on my shelf for the past ten years and renamed it “In the Land of Misfits, Pirates and Cooks” after the people and things that I found while living in the Caribbean.

The stories in the book are all about living and working as a chef in the Caribbean.  You can see this book at:  Amazon –  http://www.amazon.com/Land-Misfits-Pirates-Cooks/dp/0615297781/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1261277848&sr=1-1

You soon be able to buy it at all Barnes and Nobles stores.

